The Winemakers Wife



The Winemakers Wife The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Am lie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale.Champagne, 1940 In s has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for theR sistance In s fears they ll be exposed, but for C line, half Jewish wife of Chauveau s chef de cave, the risk is even greater rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.When C line recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and In s makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love and the champagne house that ties them together.New York, 2019 Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France But the older woman has an ulterior motive and a tragic, decades old story to share When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau. Free Read Books The Winemakers Wife Author Kristin Harmel – heartforum.co.uk

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Winemakers Wife book, this is one of the most wanted Kristin Harmel author readers around the world.

Download The Winemakers Wife  – heartforum.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 400 pages
  • The Winemakers Wife
  • Kristin Harmel
  • English
  • 01 June 2018
  • 1982112298

10 thoughts on “The Winemakers Wife

  1. Elizabeth of Silver& says:

    France, wine, WWII, present day, and love all of this wrapped into one amazing, difficult to put down read.We meet Inez, Celine, Michel, Thor, Liv, and Liv s French grandmother, Edith, as the story moves back and forth in time.We find out about the lives of the winemakers during the war and a secret that grandmother has kept for many years as well as a connection that the vineyards, a restaurant, and the characters have to both time periods and to their lives.Grandmother Edith was my favorite France, wine, WWII, present day, and love all of this wrapped into one amazing, difficult to put down read.We meet Inez, Celine, Michel, Thor, Liv, and Liv s French grandmother, Edith, as the story moves back and forth in time.We find out about the lives of the winemakers during the war and a secret that grandmother has kept for many years as well as a connection that the vineyards, a restaurant, and the characters have to both time periods and to their lives.Grandmother Edith was my favorite character mysterious and stubborn all rolled into one.Liv was likable as well.Inez, Celine, Michel, and Thor were interesting, and their wine tunnels were fascinating.We learnof the war, the resistance, the F...

  2. Erin says:

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated to this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at the angle of the champagne industry and it s resistance during Germ Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitate...

  3. Zoe says:

    Informative, beautiful, and tragic The Winemaker s Wife is a stirring, immersive story set in France during the early 1940s, as well present day, that is told primarily from three different perspectives In s Chauveau, a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far reaching, life ...

  4. Krista says:

    Rating 3.5 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I m giving the book 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 stars This book s genre is Historical Fiction For me there were not enough historical details about the French Resistance in the Champagne region of France during the war to sink my teeth into It often feltlike a Romance or Chic Lit Women s Rating 3.5 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I m giving the book 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 stars This book s genre is Historical Fiction For me there were not enough historical details about the French Resistance in the Champagne region of France during the war to sink my teeth in...

  5. Paige says:

    The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Resistance and over, it goes into little to no details about what they did other than hiding the munitions as stated in the synopsis The members are never named, the groups are unknown, and the effect of their cause is anonymous The reader never sees the outcome of what came from their help with the resistance and there is no action regarding the resistance movement.The premise for t The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Res...

  6. DeAnn says:

    3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France, mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed learningabout the process of maintaining a vineyard, the process for making champagne, and a bitabout what the inhabitants of this region did as part of the French resistance.The three women in this book Celine, Ines, and Liv mostly didn t capture my sympathy until the end of the book They didn t feel fleshed out and I struggled to unders 3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France, mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed learningabout the process of maintaining a vineyard, the process for making champagne, and a bitabout what the inhabitants of this region did as part of the French resistance.The ...

  7. Shelby says:

    In the Champagne region of France, newlyweds Michel and Ines owned a winery by the name of Maison Chauveau During the 1940s when WWII breaks out, the Nazis invade their small town and take over the supply produced by their winery Lucky for Ines, her life isn t heavily affected by the war, but even still, her marriage is perishing before her eyes And then Ines discovers that Michel is taking part in the French Resistance and she worries what his actions will cost them Celine and her husband T In the Champagne region of France, newlyweds Michel and Ines owned a winery by the name of Maison Chauveau During the 1940s when WWII bre...

  8. The Just-About-Cocky Ms M says:

    There That ought to explain why I won t read yet another WWII book featuring the abysmal tropes of muddled romantic relationships between Nazis and their victims, with the obligatory Jewish female thrown in to raise the stakes.

  9. Jenna Bookish says:

    My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher Okay Minority opinion alert This book currently has a very respectable 4.14 average on Goodreads, so if the synopsis sounds like something you ll love, by all means, don t let my review turn you off of it But my honest reaction to this novel was mainly disappointment To start with, the synopsis gave me an impre My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher Okay Minority opinion alert This book currently has a very respectable 4.14 average on Goodreads, so if the synopsis sounds like something you ll love, by all means, don t let my review turn you off of it But my honest reaction to this novel was mainly disappointment To start with, the synopsis gave me an impression of a plot that was firmly rooted in the resistance movement in France Unfortunately, this all felt very secondary in the novel, and the main thrust of the historical portion of the plot hinges around marital affairs and discord In and of itself, this could have been a decent focus for a story despite not being what I was expecting had the characters involved been a bitdeveloped Al...

  10. Aisling says:

    Grab a glass of champagne and kick back with this entertaining historical love story I loved how this author clearly had done a ton of research on the region and the war before setting half the book in WWII Reims and nearby I also appreciate the full dimensions she gave to her characters each teemed with humanity The complexities of their decisions set against an unforgiving background of German occupation made for not only a great read but the ramifications never stop coming This book was Grab a glass of champagne and kick back with this entertaining historical love story I loved how this author clearly had done a ton of research on the...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *