Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)

Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)➵ Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1) Read ➼ Author Maggie Sullivan – Heartforum.co.uk A wonderful Christmas gift full of nostalgia and charm perfect for fans of Coronation Street and readers who love Fiction set in WartimeElsie Grimshaw lives in one of the worst streets in Weatherfield A wonderful Christmas gift full of nostalgia and charm perfect for fans of Coronation Street and readers who love Fiction set in WartimeElsie Grimshaw lives in one of the worst streets in Weatherfield and is desperate to escape from life at home with a brutal father and the drudgery of working at the local mill Grabbing at the slim chances that come her way Elsie emerges Christmas on Kindle - from the heartbreak of first love and her marriage to bad boy Arnold Tanner at only sixteen years old if not much older then certainly wiserGoing under her married name of Elsie Tanner she and Arnold move in to No Coronation Street in as war breaks out Her cheeky self confidence immediately puts her at loggerheads with local busy body Ena Sharples and Annie Walker landlady of the Rovers ReturnAs Christmas approaches the residents of Coronation Street must put their petty suabbles aside if they are to survive the worst that Hitler’s Luftwaffe can throw at them And as the Manchester Blitz grips their home town of Weatherfield the residents must pull together to make this a Christmas to remember – for all of the right reasons.

.

Christmas on Coronation Street PDF Ð Christmas on
  • Paperback
  • 400 pages
  • Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)
  • Maggie Sullivan
  • 20 June 2015
  • 9780008255121

10 thoughts on “Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)

  1. Sophie Crane says:

    A heart warming tale of one girl’s struggle to escape the slums of Manchester and her bully of a father just before World War II There is a truly authentic feel about this story and you can’t help but root for the courageous and resourceful heroine For someone who has never watched the TV programme Coronation Street this is a fantastic introduction to the characters And for fans of the show it’s a nostalgic look back at the very beginning of this close knit community A book to savour whatever the time of year

  2. Rheannah says:

    I didn’t plan to read this book in fact I didn’t even know anything about it But as I clapped eyes on it during an afternoon shop at Tesco I knew I needed to read it Being a fan of coronation street Christmas and wartime themed stories this was the perfect book The story began in Manchester during the 1930s it centres around Elsie Grimshaw and her tough start to life for herself and her siblings her love life and how the 2nd world war affected her family It was heartbreaking in parts but very real An excellent read I can’t wait to get my hands on the mother’s day one I would 100% recommend this

  3. Christina says:

    A heart warming tale of one girl’s struggle to escape the slums of Manchester and her bully of a father just before World War II There is a truly authentic feel about this story and you can’t help but root for the courageous and resourceful heroine For someone who has never watched the TV programme Coronation Street this is a fantastic introduction to the characters And for fans of the show it’s a nostalgic look back at the very beginning of this close knit community A book to savour whatever the time of year

  4. booklover BEV says:

    Loved itThe story starts in the year 1937 a young nearly fifteen years old called Elsie Grimshaw living with her large family in back gas street Working two jobs Elsie is a feisty girl that knows what she wants out of life She always admired coronation street weatherfield and as years go on lives there after her marriage this book takes us through two Christmases and into the war years I loved it from start to finish

  5. Ria says:

    I love these kind of books a brilliant idea to mesh a story from the past with a soap that is still running todayThis one tells the story of one of Corrie's most famous characters Elsie TannerFrom her humble beginnings in Back Gas street to her eventual move to Coronation street and surviving the war yearsA wonderful soap incorporated in a book with a wartime and seasonal flavour what could you want this time of yearA brilliant read

  6. Larissa Marie says:

    I’ve never watched Coronation Street but loved this book Perfect pre Christmas read

  7. Sophia Loves to read says:

    A wonderful Christmas read full of nostalgia and charm perfect for fans of Coronation Street and readers who love Fiction set in Wartime

  8. Sandra says:

    As a fan of Coronation Street I enjoyed reading this a nice change from the DetectiveMurder novels that I have been reading lately It also shows my age as I remember these characters Loved the history of the Street at the end the series was always known for its portrayal of strong working class women their lives and characters; somehow sadly I feel that the TV series has now lost that especially after the death of Blanche and Deidre in an effort to keep up with rival soaps

  9. Sheila says:

    A most enjoyable read I was a Coronation Street fan from about the mid 70's but not for a long time now The new vulgar characters and dysfunctional families moving into the street and the much loved older ones leaving ruined it for me There was a lot substance in the earlier part of the series This novel set in the late 30's is about fiery haired Elsie Tanner who took life at a gallop but coped with the fallout I hadn't thought she was uite so promiscuous or from such a terrible background so that was a revelation It was good to meet up with some of the long gone down to earth characters like Ena Annie etc I was particularly interested in the details of the Spanish Civil War and the filtering of WW2 with its shortages and coping with loss I wasn't too knowledgeable on the history of the Spanish Civil War so that filled a gap for me I shall follow onto the second of the trilogy now

  10. Roz Radmore says:

    This is the early story of Elsie Tanner who became one of the best loved characters in Coronation Street Fourteen year old Elsie Grimshaw lives in a dreadful slum in Weatherfield a district of Manchester She is one of eight sisters and has a baby brother Her mother seems to be permanently pregnant and her father is an out of work drunk Elsie is desperate to move away When she meets Arnold Tanner she sees that he could be the way out Finding herself pregnant at sixteen she is happy to marry him They move into 11 Coronation Street just as war breaks out Arnold rushes to join up leaving a very pregnant Elsie behindSoon Elsie will be doing battle with the indomitable Ena Sharples and Snobbish Annie WalkerThe war drags on but the Coronation Street residents will not be defeated in spirit A lovely nostalgic read for older fans of the series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *