Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3

Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3[Download] ➺ Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3 By David Towsey – Heartforum.co.uk Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The Road the stunning terrifying moving conclusion to The Walkin TrilogyIs there a future for those already dead Rumours of the Drowned Woman are rife Some say Perfect for Place: The PDF ↠ fans of The Walking Dead and The Road the stunning terrifying moving conclusion to The Walkin TrilogyIs there a future for those already dead Rumours of the Drowned Woman are rife Some say she can t be killed not in the usual ways She hunts down wanted men but never collects Your Resting MOBI :Ä on the bounty they say she is looking for one man in particular He killed her husband and stole her daughterThere will be a reckoning Haunting elegiac evocative and human Christopher Brookmyre author of Dead Girl Walking.

David Towsey Place: The PDF ↠ is a graduate of the Bath Spa and Aberystwyth University Creative Writing programmes Born in Dorset he moved to Wales and managed to lose himself there for ten years He s now determined to see what the rest of the world has to offer.

Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3 Kindle ð
  • Paperback
  • 352 pages
  • Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3
  • David Towsey
  • 02 December 2016
  • 1782064435

10 thoughts on “Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3

  1. Liz Blake says:

    Utterly perfect ending

  2. Paul says:

    I ve made no secret about the fact that I ve really enjoyed this series I ve been suffering from the terrible wonderful situation where I long to read the last book, but know I m going to be disappointed that this has to end Everything does, however, have to come to an end, and so with a heavy heart it s onwards to the final part in The Walkin trilogy.The story picks up some time after the conclusion of book two, Your Servants and Your People It follows another member of the McDermott family I ve made no secret about the fact that I ve really enjoyed this series I ve been suffering from the terrible wonderful situation where I long to read the last book, but know I m going to be disappointed that this has to end Everything does, however, have to come to an end, and so with a heavy heart it s onwards to the final part in The Walkin trilogy.The story picks up some time after the conclusion of book two, Your Servants and Your People It follows another member of the McDermott family, Ryan He has grown up in relative isolation with his mother After years living on their small farm, events force Ryan out into the wild world where he has to confront the legacy of his family s past I liked Ryan immediately Existing in that turbulent time of his teenage years, he is hopelessly innocent in some respects and old beyond his years in others Watching him come to terms with his lot in life is emotive stuff His frustrations and anger are deftly played out as he travels the country trying to understand why he has been left alone for so long.With the exception of a short appearance in the prologue, the Drowned Woman doesn t actually appear until later on in the novel That said, her presence is felt throughout Like a spirit of vengeance she stalks the land, grimly determined to enact her revenge against those who have done her wrong If you have read the previous books in the trilogy, then the motives of the Drowned Woman are pretty clear from the get go If not, her character still works but has a farmysterious air.Initially, Ryan and the Drowned Woman appear like two opposing forces, diametrically different from one another, but the further you read theyou realise that they are searching for the same things.There are many other characters also worthy of note The most important being Ryan s errant father Eventually, Ryan gets the opportunity to meet his Pa, and the reader gets some idea of just how dysfunctional the McDermott family has become Like all the best Westerns, many of the characters remain enigmatically stoic Ryan s Pa is a perfect example of this You get the distinct impression he wants to open up to his sonbut just doesn t have the tools that will allow him to do that Remember, this novel is set in an era where the strong silent type was the norm Watching the relationship between Ryan and his Pa with modern eyes highlights just how many of their interactions come across as blisteringly sad It felt like if they could only open up to one another everything would be alright.Thinking about it, all of the characters seem imbued with that same innate sadness Their lives, and in some cases afterlives, are so tragic I ll be honest, I don t think I was expecting such insight, but it is entirely welcome nonetheless Life, and by extension death, in the frontier was often a brutal violent business Towsey s writing does a grand job of highlighting this No one is exempt from suffering Ultimately, I suppose that is the point of the story In keeping with other zombie novels, this isn t necessarily an upbeat experience but it is a completely engrossing one.One thing did strike me that I find impressive I ve been thinking about this book since I finished it, and I reckon you could read this novel irrespective if you have read its two predecessors Not a suggestion I would normally make, I m usually loath to start any series on a book other than the first one, but I think this may be the exception The experience would be wildly different in each instance but I think that both would be equally valid The author does a remarkable job of subtly referencing books one and two, but never labouring their content.Another quick aside, if you enjoy listening to music while reading, I heartily recommend The Last of Us soundtrack by Gustavo Santaolalla as the perfect accompaniment to this novel They complement one another rather marvellously.The Walkin trilogy has been a genuinely fascinating experience following multiple generations of the McDermott clan as they attempt to exist in a brutal alternate version of the American frontier No spoilers, but all I ll say is that this final book ends on a pitch perfect, bittersweet note Towsey s writing explores what it means to be human as well as picking apart what happens when your humanity is no longer relevant Turns out that these polar opposites are the flip sides of the same coin If you are looking for a slightly different take on your standard zombie mythology, then give this series a try This isn t overt, blood curdling horror this is an entirely differentintrospective and thoughtful beast

  3. Tim says:

    Appropriately, this third title in the Walkin Trilogy follows Ryan, a member of the third generation of the McDermott family Since the first book, Your Brother s Blood, we ve watched the McDermotts struggle against hardships, not least death David Towsey continues to play cleverly with the expectations readers might have of a trilogy each book has found its own mood and structure, teasing out details of the post apocalyptic world but farconcerned with the characters populating its des Appropriately, this third title in the Walkin Trilogy follows Ryan, a member of the third generation of the McDermott family Since the first book, Your Brother s Blood, we ve watched the McDermotts struggle against hardships, not least death David Towsey continues to play cleverly with the expectations readers might have of a trilogy each book has found its own mood and structure, teasing out details of the post apocalyptic world but farconcerned with the characters populating its desolate towns Characterisation is superb and the book features lots of strange, quietly unsettling set pieces The tone is melancholy and genuinely haunting I d recommend the entire series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *