This Tender Land




      This Tender Land
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace 1932, Minnesota the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated It is also home to an orphan named Odie O Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent s wrath Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en thralling, big hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole. Free Read eBook This Tender Land author William Kent Krueger – heartforum.co.uk

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University before being kicked out for radical activities After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota He currently makes his living as a full time author He s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is an attorney He makes his home in St Paul, a city he dearly loves.Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota His protagonist is Cork O Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage part Irish and part Ojibwe His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize His last five novels were all New York Times bestsellers Ordinary Grace, his stand alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year Windigo Island, number fourteen in his Cork O Connor series, was released in August 2014.

Download 
      This Tender Land
 author William Kent Krueger – heartforum.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 450 pages
  • This Tender Land
  • William Kent Krueger
  • English
  • 19 June 2019
  • 1476749299

10 thoughts on “ This Tender Land

  1. Dorie - Cats&Books :) says:

    NOW AVAILABLE After reading this book I think there should be a separate genre for incredibly well written books that will endure the test of time, this is truly a masterpiece It is literary fiction, adventure, mystery, a lesson in morality and forgiveness, and so muchTo understand this book you really MUST READ it, and I seldom say that about a book It is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace by this author.The time frame for the book is during the Great Depression, it s 1932 and NOW AVAILABLE After reading this book I think there should be a separate genre for incredibly well written books that will endure the test of time, this is truly a masterpiece It is literary fiction, adventure, mystery, a lesson in morality and forgiveness, and so muchTo understand this book you really MUST READ it, and I...

  2. Angela M says:

    The best historical fiction doesn t just take me to the time and place depicted in the story It takes me into the heart and soul of people who lived there and then This is precisely what William Kent Kruger has done in this beautifully written story of four orphans on their journey to find safety, home, and love while discovering themselves along the way He does this with characters who are everything to this telling of history, whose stories tell of the extreme hardships of the Great The best historical fiction doesn t just take me to the time and place depicted in the story It takes me into the heart and soul of people who lived there and then This is precisely what William Kent Kruger has done in this beautifully written story of four orphans on their journey to find safety, home, and love while discovering themselves along the way He does this with characters who are everything to this telling of history, whose stories tell of the extreme hardships of the Great Depression, of the injustices and harm done to Native American children in the government sponsored boarding schools, a blemish on our history with characters whose fai...

  3. Diane S ☔ says:

    When one reads a book that is almost 500 pages, and upon completion is not ready for the book to end, in fact could continue on for another 500 pages, then you know a book deserves 5 stars At least for me Four children, three horribly mistreated at the Lincoln school for Indians, make a life changing journey Although only one boy is a Native American, all are orphans All have no choice but to be on the run All wil...

  4. Liz says:

    I d give this onethan five stars if I could I am a huge fan of Willian Kent Krueger and absolutely loved Ordinary Grace I wasn t sure anything could top it Well, hard to say if this is better, but it s equally as good WKK is just such an amazing writer He s got it all, well turned phrases, engaging plot, ...

  5. Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* says:

    5 AMAZING STARS The story takes place in the 1930 s during the Great Depression in Minnesota Odie and Albert are two white orphaned teenage brothers who live at the Lincoln school It s a school for Native American Indian children who are forcibly separated from their parents and sent there to be educated Four and Albert are forced to live there as well, with the Indians They were the only two white orphans in the school Mrs Brickman who was known as The Black Witch was the school 5 AMAZING STARS The story takes place in the 1930 s during the Great Depression in Minnesota Odie and Albert are two white orphaned teenage brothers who live at the Lincoln school It s a school for Native American Indian children who are forcibly separated from their parents and sent there to be educated Four and Albert are forced to live there as well, with the Indians They were the only two white orphans in the scho...

  6. Debra says:

    I ve poured the best of myself into this story and I invite you to experience all of its remarkable twists and turns As Odie says in the very beginning Open yourself to every possibility, for there is nothing your heart can imagine that is not so Blessings, William Kent Krueger True to his word, William Kent Krueger did pour his heart and soul into this book His writing is both moving and beautiful I found myself highlighting large sections of text He has the heart of a poet If youI ve poured the best of myself into this story and I invite you to experience all of its remarkable twists and turns As Odie says in the very beginning Open yourself to every possibility, for there is nothing your heart can imagine ...

  7. Elyse (semi hiatus) Walters says:

    NO SPOILERS This Tender Land , is a mesmerizing tale with wonderful characters, rich themes, extraordinary storytelling, delicious writing.with dialogue that sprinkles gold nuggets in our hearts, gut, and mind A couple of times I thought Stand By Me meets Deliverance.meets Huckleberry Finn It has those type of a feelings I m pleased as a pickle to say this novel is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace another book by Krueger that s one of my favorites..starting NO SPOILERS This Tender Land , is a mesmerizing tale with wonderful characters, rich themes, extraordinary storytelling, delicious writing.with dialogue that sprinkles gold nuggets in our hearts, gut, and mind A couple of times I thought Stand By Me meets Deliverance.meets Huckleberry Finn It has those type of a feelings I m pleased as a pickle to say this novel is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace another book by Krueger that s one of my favorites..starting with a wonderful note to the readers by the authorto the very end.and the wonderful Epilogue The ex...

  8. Annet says:

    Remember this It s an old saying but a true one Home is where your heart is.Wonderful book As the author describes in his Author s note The river voyage upon which Odie O Banion and his fellow Vagabonds embark in the summer of 1932 is a mythic journey Odie and his older brother, young girl Emmy and the silent Indian young guy Mose escape from a sad home for parentless children, brutally run by amongst others a cruel couple They embark on the river to go and search out an aunt Remember this It s an old saying but a true one Home is where your heart is.Wonderful book As the author describes in his Author s note The river voyage upon whi...

  9. Nilufer Ozmekik says:

    FIVE I NEVER FORGIVE MYSELF IF I GIVE LESS TO THIS FANTASTIC JOURNEY and I OFFICIALLY DECLARE THAT I M IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK STARS This book was a beautiful symphony to my ears, refreshing smell of nature to my nose, healing hands to my soul, heart warming, emotional touch to my heart, lyrical, poetical, nurturing elements to my brain There was not much words to express my feelings how I loved this book and how I enjoyed each word, sentence, each of the journey those orphans have taken, each FIVE I NEVER FORGIVE MYSELF IF I GIVE LESS TO THIS FANTASTIC JOURNEY and I OFFICIALLY DECLARE THAT I M IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK STARS This book was a beautiful symphony to my ears, refreshing smell of nature to my nose, healing hands to my soul, heart warming, emotional touch to my heart, lyrical, poetical, nurturing elements to my brain There was not much words to express my feelings how I loved this book and how I ...

  10. karen says:

    oooh, goodreads choice awards semifinalist for BEST HISTORICAL FICTION 2019 what will happen Maybe it really is like it says in the Bible, I offered God s a shepherd and we re his flock and he watches over us For a long while, Albert didn t say anything I listened to that kid crying in the dark because he felt lost and alone and believed no one cared.Finally Albert whispered, Listen, Odie, what does a shepherd eat I didn t know where he was going with that, so I didn t reply His oooh, goodreads choice awards semifinalist for BEST HISTORICAL FICTION 2019 what will happen Maybe it really is like it says in the Bible, I offered God s a shepherd and we re his flock and he watches over us For a long while, Albert didn t say anything I listened to that kid crying in the dark because he felt lost and alone and believed no one cared.Finally Albert whispered, Listen, Odie, what does a shepherd eat I didn t know where he was going with that, so I didn t reply His flock, Albert told me One by one william kent krueger has written eleventy billion books, and yet this is the first of em i ve read i have been missing out my deepest pleasure in reading comes from the story, and discovering a gifted storyteller, as simple as that may seem, is...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *