The Summer We Lost Her by Tish Cohen

The Summer We Lost Her by Tish CohenFor fans of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, comes THE SUMMER WE LOST HER, a “astonishingly profound…exquisitely written drama” (Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You) about a husband and a wife, a missing child, and the complicated family secrets that can derail even the best of marriages.

It’s been a busy—and expensive—few years for Matt and Elise Sorenson and their young daughter Gracie. Matt, a Manhattan lawyer, has just been offered a partnership, and Elise’s equestrian ambitions as a competitive dressage rider may finally vault her into the Olympics. But her long absences from home and endless hours of training have strained their relationships nearly to the breaking point.

Now they’re up in the Adirondacks, preparing to sell the valuable lakefront cabin that’s been in Matt’s family for generations. But as they navigate the memories the cabin holds—and come face to face with Matt’s teenage crush—Gracie disappears without a trace.

Faced with the possibility that they’ll never see their daughter again, Elise and Matt struggle to come to terms with what their future may bring. The limits of Matt and Elise’s love for each other are inextricably bound up with Gracie’s disappearance. Everything for the Sorenson family is about to change—the messy tangle of their past, the harrowing truth of their present, and whether or not their love will survive a parent’s worst nightmare.

Below the Moon by Alexis Marie Chute

Below the Moon by Alexis Marie ChuteBe the first to read the addictive YA fantasy adventure—Below the Moon—with this advanced reader giveaway! Critics call The 8th Island Trilogy: “A WRINKLE IN TIME meets THE PRINCESS BRIDE.”

Ella Wellsley is not your typical teenager. Cancer left her mute, but not powerless. Trapped in a parallel dimension, Ella rallies her strength to join her family—her mother, Tessa, her grandpa Archie, and her magical boyfriend, Luggie—in locating the cure to her illness. This cure is entangled in the fate of all worlds, and threatened by the presence of an evil Star anchored in the sea. The Star has thrown life everywhere into chaos—and it is Ella who holds the key to unlocking its mystery.

Below the Moon is a hybrid novel including over 40 illustrations created by the author-artist, Alexis Marie Chute, in the persona of fourteen-year-old Ella.

Three Women by Lisa Taddeo

Three Women by Lisa TaddeoEnter to win an early finished copy of the book Elizabeth Gilbert hailed as "a nonfiction literary masterpiece" and Jojo Moyes called "as unputdownable as the most page-turning fiction."

Desire: it thrills us and torments us, it controls our thoughts, destroys our lives, and it’s all we live for. Yet we almost never speak of it. And as a buried force in our lives, desire remains largely unexplored—until now. Over the past eight years, journalist Lisa Taddeo has driven across the country six times to embed herself with ordinary women from different regions and backgrounds. The result, Three Women, is the deepest nonfiction portrait of desire ever written and one of the most anticipated books of the year.

By delving into the sex lives of three ordinary women—a housewife in a loveless marriage, a glamorous entrepreneur whose husband’s needs are increasingly at odds with her own, and a high school student who has an alleged affair with an esteemed teacher—Lisa Taddeo lays bare the longing, anticipation, confusion, and despair that go hand in hand with desire, love, sex, and heartbreak. Told with astonishing frankness and immediacy, we anticipate that Three Women will be the most talked-about book of the summer—powerful, tantalizing, timely, and compelling.

“I literally could not put it down.” —Gwyneth Paltrow on Instagram

"Nothing short of revolutionary.” —Stephanie Danler

"Riveting, assured, and scorchingly original." —Dave Eggers

Limited Wish by Mark Lawrence

Limited Wish by Mark  LawrenceOne choice. Two possible timelines. And a world hanging in the balance.

It’s the summer of 1986 and reluctant prodigy Nick Hayes is a student at Cambridge University, working with world-renowned mathematician Professor Halligan. He just wants to be a regular student, but regular isn’t really an option for a boy-genius cancer survivor who’s already dabbled in time travel.

When he crosses paths with a mysterious yet curiously familiar girl, Nick discovers that creases have appeared in the fabric of time, and that he is at the centre of the disruption. Only Nick can resolve this time paradox before the damage becomes catastrophic for both him and the future of the world. Time is running out—literally.

Wrapped up with him in this potentially apocalyptic scenario are his ex-girlfriend, Mia, and fellow student Helen. Facing the world-ending chaos of a split in time, Nick must act fast and make the choice of a lifetime—or lifetimes.

Scowl by Mark Lages

Scowl by Mark LagesEnter for a chance to win one of a hundred copies of Scowl being given away. This is the latest book by Mark Lages.

This book offers a lifetime of interviews with the fictional pop music phenom known to the world as Scowl. They were conducted by longtime confidante and journalist, Ralph Bonaparte. The interviews begin in 1957, right after one of Scowl’s early rock ‘n’ roll concerts in Los Angeles, and they end in 2001, just prior to one of his sold-out retrospective shows in Las Vegas. These vibrant and compelling interviews cover Scowl’s entire remarkable life from his exuberant years as a young man to his more thoughtful years as an adult. They reveal the heart and soul of a talented, beloved, and flawed American entertainer—who, like the rest of us, learned as he lived.

Never heard of Mark? For more info, go to www.marklages.com.

Reality 2048 by Derek Cressman

Reality 2048 by Derek CressmanWin one of 100 free copies of Reality(TM) 2048--Watching Big Mother.

An inquisitive woman goes through the dreary motions of life in a not too distant Los Angeles that has lost its vivacity. Vera escapes her hollow world through a deep search within herself to avoid a deluge of commercial information. She gradually develops the capacity for independent thought, falls in love, and must then avoid a seductive technology that could render her catatonic.

"A potent and sobering wake-up call." -Kirkus Reviews

"The book's monolithic system of business and political corruption has impacts that cannot be ignored or avoided. What promises to be a story of personal transformation turns into a chilling warning about how corporate greed kills individual empowerment." -- Foreword Clarion Reviews

"Reality(TM) 2048 may be a dystopian thriller, but it shouldn't be limited to these audiences. Social Issues and technology fiction readers will find plenty of shock and awe in Cressman's revealing portent of a possible social form of attack on a democratic, free, truly choice-driven life." -- D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Reviews

"Reality(TM) 2048 is a thoughtful take on a plausible future. With a generous nod to George Orwell, Derek Cressman weaves a suspenseful tale set in a world where no one believes the news, and no one cares." -- Mal Warwick, Publisher, Mal Warwick on Books and author of Hell on Earth: What We Can Learn from Dystopian Fiction.

Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay

Elevator Pitch by Linwood BarclayEnter for the chance to win 1 of 50 Advance Reader's Editions of Linwood Barclay's edge-of-your-seat thriller ELEVATOR PITCH before it goes on sale this fall!

“Linwood Barclay is a stone cold pro and Elevator Pitch is a shameless good time.” —Joe Hill, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman

It all begins on a Monday, when four people board an elevator in a Manhattan office tower. Each presses a button for their floor, but the elevator proceeds, non-stop, to the top. Once there, it stops for a few seconds, and then plummets.

It appears to be a horrific, random tragedy. But then, on Tuesday, it happens again, in a different Manhattan skyscraper. And when Wednesday brings yet another high-rise catastrophe, one of the most vertical cities in the world is plunged into chaos.

Clearly, this is anything but random. Fearing for their lives, thousands of men in women working in offices across the city refuse leave their homes. Two seasoned New York detectives and a straight-shooting journalist must race against time to find the answers before the city’s newest, and tallest, residential tower has its Friday night ribbon-cutting.

Pulsating with tension, Elevator Pitch is a riveting tale of psychological suspense that is all too plausible . . . and will chill readers to the bone.

Get ready for the ride of your life.

The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan

The Nanny by Gilly MacmillanWhen her beloved nanny, Hannah, left without a trace in the summer of 1988, seven-year-old Jocelyn Holt was devastated. Haunted by the loss, Jo grew up bitter and distant, and eventually left her parents and Lake Hall, their faded aristocratic home, behind.

Thirty years later, Jo returns to the house and is forced to confront her troubled relationship with her mother. But when human remains are accidentally uncovered in a lake on the estate, Jo begins to question everything she thought she knew.

Then an unexpected visitor knocks on the door and Jo’s world is destroyed again. Desperate to piece together the gaping holes in her memory, Jo must uncover who her nanny really was, why she left, and if she can trust her own mother…

In this compulsively readable tale of secrets, lies, and deception, Gilly Macmillan explores the darkest impulses and desires of the human heart. Diabolically clever, The Nanny reminds us that sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie.